“I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service. And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God” (Romans 12:1-2)

 When we begin to change our mindset and our thoughts, we have to begin to SPEAK the True Word of God over our lives! What does the Word of God say about you? Who does God say you are? Dive into the Word today and find out just who you are in Christ!!! Once you KNOW who you are and WHOSE you are, it becomes easier to change your thoughts and words from negative to positive!!! God’s Word, “If we suffer, we shall also reign with him; if we deny him, he also will deny us” (2 Timothy 2:12).

We must begin confessing what the Word of God has to say about our lives and circumstances instead of what those in the world may speak about the situation. When you change your words, you change your world. If you continually speak negative words over your life, then eventually defeat will be the result. In the same way, if you speak words of faith and victory, you will see a harvest of blessing not only in your own life but also in the lives of those around you.

Remember your mother telling you: “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all?” That was good advice. Don’t give life to your negative thoughts by speaking them out. You can’t continue to speak negative words filled with doubt and unbelief and expect to have a positive life full of joy and hope. You can change your situation by changing your words. Talk about your visions and your dreams. Declare that you can do all things through Christ.

Declare you are more than a conqueror. When you find yourself in a difficult situation, don’t say the first thing that pops into your head. Learn to control your emotions and take those thoughts captive. When you use words of faith and victory, God will fight your battles for you. You’ll overcome every challenge that you face and live the abundant life that God has in store for you. God can set you free from the dungeon of despair. Know how to exercise your mind.

As Christians, we have so many struggles we are dealing with that we may get caught up with the battles in our minds. 2 Corinthians 5:17 says, ‘Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.” But where the reality hits the road-we fall short-especially in our thought life. The old way of thinking has not gone away. Many still struggle with temptations in their mind, bitterness, depression, fear, hopelessness, frustrations, problems, and putting it bluntly-evil thoughts.

To be a successful Christian means to follow Jesus, to obey His teachings, to love others, to grow spiritually. But this battle still rages in the mind. God’s solution to this battle is not simply to pray more. Prayer is important but we need to do more than pray. Romans 12:2 goes to the heart of the problem and offers God’s solution-“Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is- his good, pleasing and perfect will.” (NIV)

Every day I am praying and asking God to “create in me a clean heart and renew the right spirit within me”. To be honest, it is a struggle in this world we live in and if we don’t keep our minds stayed on the Word of God daily, then we are easily to get off track. Once we renew our minds, God has some great benefits and rewards for us. We will not just be transformed and cleaned up on the outside but also on the inside, too. You will understand what God’s will is for your life then. How many times have you said, “I wish I knew what God wanted me to do in this situation?” Well, the answer to your question is the renewing of your mind! The God of peace will be with you and me when renewing our minds (Philippians 4:9).

My mind needs a refresher every day by reading and studying the Word of God. I also have to ask the Lord to guard and direct my mind. My mind is the place of my intellect, reasoning, and intentions; my behavior begins in my mind and my mind is where spiritual transformation happens (Romans 12:2). The object of my regular thinking will determine how my days, years, and ultimately my life will play out. Everything starts in the mind. Too often, I simply don’t bother to ask for the Lord’s protection, direction, and oversight of my mind.

From now on, I will do my best to start my day with a simple prayer: “Jesus, by your Holy Spirit, keep my mind firmly set where you want it to be focused today.” Being able to recognize the source of self-focused and self-defeating thoughts given that my behavior begins in my mind and my mind is where spiritual transformation happens, is it any surprise that the adversary wants to mess with my thinking? It must be his favorite first attempt to distract and disarm Christians and it usually works. I have experienced periods of mental oppression that seems almost physical.

A feeling of heaviness accompanies my self-defeating thoughts. Most of the time, I realize that I am engaged in a spiritual battle of some sort, but I cannot immediately free myself of it. I pray. I confess. I read God’s Word. I pray some more. (It should be noted that in my case this is not clinical depression and, if it were, I would seek medical treatment.) Eventually my mind is unencumbered, but it is not because I thought positively enough or talked myself out of it. That may work temporarily, but it won’t root out the problem.

I know who the enemy is and I also know the only One who can defeat him. Recognize the enemy and fight him with God’s power and with Scriptural truth. I had to learn how to replace self-focused thinking with a God-focused mindset. After praying for the Lord to protect my mind and recognizing the enemy, I have a choice. Will I train my brain to concentrate on the things of God, or will I let it be consumed by the things of this world? To focus my mind on God requires some work. If I don’t take purposeful action to set my mind on Jesus Christ, then I’m allowing my mind to go anywhere it wants to go. I know where it will go, and it’s nowhere good. But let God do His inner surgery on you through the Holy Spirit and you will be much better off for it in the long run! God wants us to be so in depth with Him, so He can transform our mind, body, and soul. It’s nothing like having a renewed mind in God! 

#RenewYourMindsetInGOD #ConsultGODFirst #ThePowerofGOD #TheSpiritualBattle #DeliveranceIsMyTestimony #DiscoverYourPurpose #AWomanClothedInStrength #TheFAITHWalk

http://www.lucretiacrgill.com

imagesRXZL5T8C

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Renewing of The Mind

  1. I Love this word because it is in complete agreement with the word of God and shines the light of in the dark places of man’s thinking (Genesis6:5) but my particular love of this discourse is it directs my spirit to (ROMANS 6 and 8) where God’s power and expectation for us to overcome sin, Satan the world and most importantly of all ourselves is clearly defined. Your words are powerful and encouraging. Thank you Lucretia Shaw.

Leave a comment